Tags

, ,


by Oliver Pötzsch

5*

Another excellent offering from Oliver Pötzsch, another great translation by Lee Chadeayne. I’m not going into the details of the plot of this, the third in the series; you can read the synopsis for that. Suffice to say, it’s another wonderful read. A plot that’s just complex enough to keep you turning pages, set in glorious locations, peopled by characters that completely draw you in and include you in their world.
I’ve become a massive fan of this series. It is simply the best thing I’ve read in a very long time, with one of the best characters – not Magdalena, the eponymous heroine, the Hangman’s Daughter: she’s wonderful enough in her way – but I adore the fashion-conscious, coffee-loving, accident-prone Simon Fronwieser, who has to be one of the funniest, most likeable characters in current fiction.
My sole criticism of these books are the dreadfully dreary covers. So off-putting – but don’t be put off by them, as I was for a while. I had a copy of The Dark Monk on my TBR pile for weeks before I finally picked it up. It didn’t call to me, it looked so dreary. It’s such a shame, I’d have missed a real treat (note to publishers – you are doing these books no favours with these dull covers. They deserve something better. Please re-design them now!)
Love these books. I can hardly wait for the next.

