Tags

, , ,


Gaiman3AI’ve not been around these here parts much lately. Maybe you noticed? Or probably not, but I’ve been pretty disconnected from most online activity for a few weeks now and am likely to stay unplugged for a few months yet.

I keep questioning the now-generally received wisdom that being active on social media is one of those things an author absolutely must do to keep our name out there. But when there are thousands and thousands of authors all shouting their name on the self-same sites, well… how is everyone going to be heard? To paraphrase the Fifth Doctor, There should be another way – something I’m working on, but in the meantime, there are, alas, still only twenty four hours in each day. Even a small, wee post like this seems to take far too long to write. I just don’t have time to live my life and write this blog and stay active on Twitter and Facebook and LinkedIn and Pinterest and… oh, everything, and write as well – and writing is what I really want to do.

It must be something in the zeitgeist: it seems Neil Gaiman and I are of a mind, which is a pleasing thing to know. Click on the pic to read what he has to say on the subject.

I expect I’ll be here, blogging from time to time, but you’ll hardly see me on Facebook or Twitter at all. I intend to be much too busy writing.

Hopefully, I’ll see you all on the other side.

