Tags

, , ,


SunThis weather is so strange. Last night, we had thunder and lightning with snow – very operatic. Today the snow is back as deep as ever, like it never went away at all. It’s still hammering down. Everything is frosted and beautiful under ice blue skies, great billowing clouds lit gold and grey grow on the horizon, sweeping over the blue in a soft-focus streak of dove grey, lemon and pink, until the sky is grey and the snow blows down again. The birds are using the temporary lull to gather on the feeders: chaffinches, Goldfinches, ring necked doves and Bullfinches.

And as I write, the snow is falling hard again. There’s a hardy jogger out, a long haired gent of 60 plus…

Jogger

I’d love to be out in it myself. I adore this weather but I’m laid up with a painful chest infection, forced to stay inside, sitting on my amber velvet chair, drinking green lemon tea with honey, writing this. Our friendly local pheasant has just arrived.

StubOne benefit of being sick and housebound is that I’m making very good progress on Chaos, the sequel to Entanglement – still only sketching out the plot and characters, no actual writing done yet, but the bones of the story are almost complete, and that’s always the hardest part for me.

I’m rather behind on my reviews, but that’s nothing new – 11 down and eight new books on the pile. I am finally ahead enough to be reading books I’ve promised to read and wanted to read for an age – David Rashleigh’s Sciron and Jon Sayer’s BATDIG – and what terrific books they are. Reviews to follow.

And Richard III! How exciting is that?! And the battle is on, where will his bones finally lie? And wasn’t Channel Four’s documentary last night absolutely riveting? The facial reconstruction especially; so like, and yet, so much more human than the Tudor spin-doctor’s portrait.

How’s your weather? How’s your life? Speak to me, my babies! Let me live vicariously through your words, I need news from the outside world.

PheasantLeaving

ETA: The weather is really cutting up rough now. It’s Scott of the Antarctic out there. A chap could lose his bearings in weather like this.

