Tags


by Sean Chercover

4*

I rarely read mysteries or crime novels – I’m not really a fan. I picked up The Trinity Game because I enjoy most things that have a hint of the paranormal, and was glad I did, it was a truly terrific read, a fast moving thriller with an intriguing premise, a crime thriller with a supernatural twist that hooks you and doesn’t let go. My only complaint is that my favourite character, the best character, doesn’t make it to the end. Such a waste, but a demise that was always on the cards.

It’s hard to say much more without spoiling the plot; The Trinity Game is not especially unique or original – Religious investigators, supposed miracles, Vatican shenanigans and double dealings have been fashionable since the Da Vinci Code – but Sean Chercover twists the usual premise and sets it amongst the show-preachers of the American South, adding great atmosphere, and he’s a much better writer than Dan Brown.

It’s not great literature but it’s not meant to be. It’s a hell of a page-turner, with enough twists to keep you guessing. Thoroughly enjoyable nonsense which I highly recommend. I look forward to the sequel.

