Tags

, ,


It seems a nicely eclectic choice, I can’t say I miss seeing Zadie Smith, Ian McEwan, Martin Amis or Rose Tremain – whose exclusion seems to have twisted the knickers of some commentators, it’s good to see new names on the list. I’m currently reading* two of the contenders: Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up The Bodies and Sam Thompson’s Communion Town.  I’ve already read, reviewed, and can thoroughly recommend Ned Beauman’s The Teleportation Accident and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce.

The Telegraph have an introduction to the books and a poll…

And a look about what this year’s list says about the changing landscape of fiction.

*I say currently reading, I sort of am, but everything’s on hold while I finish Sean Chercover’s deliciously page-turny religious thriller The Trinity Game.

