Tags

, ,


i thought I was going to be ill; I felt so nauseous this morning, I thought I’d maybe caught the dread novovirus – but I seem to have cheated the microbes, at least, I feel a lot better now.

Anyway, it was clear I wasn’t going to be doing anything physically strenuous so I sat down by the fire and wrote, or at least, churned out 6,000 words of plot notes  for my novel – and I think I finally figured out where that’s going, which is good because so far, progress has not been good. The plot, such as it is, is quite simple, but the characters and their motives are complex, as are their doings as they go about their business within the bones of the story. I’ve not been able to write because I was getting lost; not quite sure what everyone was up to at any given time. I’m trying to remember Ray Bradbury’s sage advice; ‘Find out what your hero wants, then follow him’. Trouble is, my ‘hero’ is the one character in the book least likely to know what he wants or how to get it and following him could be why I’m floundering. Anyway, I think I have it sorted now but the copious notes I’ve made could just turn out to be the ravings of a lunatic. This has happened before.

As the sun went down, I switched to the Academy fic; banged out another 778 words of that and might do more later. Progress, whilst not great is at least extant. Such a turn of events is not to be sneezed at.

And the Zokutou word meter doesn’t seem to be working (again).

Such was my day; how about you?

